Greetings from Sergey Lavrov, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation

To the participants of the official opening ceremony of
the historical and documentary exhibition
On the Eve of the Great Patriotic War. 1 September 1939 – 22 June 1941

 

I am pleased to greet the participants of the official opening ceremony of the historical and documentary exhibition devoted to the events leading up to the Great Patriotic War.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs played a very active part in this project by sharing unique documents from the period. Many of them are shown for the first time ever. Let me take advantage of this opportunity to express my sincere appreciation to our colleagues from the Federal Archival Service, the Russian Historical Society and everyone who helped to make this exhibition a reality.

The memory of this particularly terrible and bloody war should serve as an eternal reminder of the countless sacrifices we made for peace and the possible consequences of chauvinism, racism, Russophobia and antisemitism. Today, it is particularly worth repeating that the courage and heroism of all the peoples of the Soviet Union played a decisive role in destroying the Nazi war machine and saving civilization from the horrors of the ‘brown plague’.

At the same time, we are firm opponents of the politicization of history. We resolutely reject all biased and lopsided interpretations of past events. Such practices are fundamentally mistaken and only serve to escalate international tensions. We believe that all ‘sensitive’ issues should be studied by competent specialists fully, objectively, comprehensively and in the context of their time.

Unfortunately, we are increasingly witness today to unscrupulous attempts to rewrite the history of World War II. The goal of such ‘revisionism’ is to abrogate the universally recognized international legal implications of WWII, cast a shadow over contemporary Russia, sully the luminous reputation of the heroic victors, and justify the bloody crimes of the Nazis and their henchmen and collaborators.

In this context, efforts to preserve the historical truth – for the sake of future generations, among others – acquire primordial importance. The present exhibition is meant to contribute to this essential undertaking. I am convinced that it will evoke genuine interest among the public at large.

 

S. LAVROV

Приветствие Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В. Лаврова

Участникам торжественной церемонии открытия
историко-документальной выставки
«Накануне Великой Отечественной. 1 сентября 1939 – 22 июня 1941»

 

Приветствую участников торжественной церемонии открытия историко-документальной выставки, посвященной событиям, предшествовавшим началу Великой Отечественной войны.

Министерство иностранных дел приняло самое энергичное участие в данном проекте, предоставив уникальные документы той эпохи. Многие из них демонстрируются впервые. Пользуясь случаем, хотел бы выразить искреннюю признательность коллегам из Федерального архивного агентства, Российского исторического общества, всем, кто содействовал реализации данного начинания.

Память о самой страшной и кровопролитной войне должна служить вечным напоминанием, как тяжело нам достался мир, к чему способны привести шовинизм, расизм, русофобия и антисемитизм. Сегодня нелишне напомнить, что именно героизм и мужество всех народов Советского Союза сыграли решающую роль в уничтожении гитлеровской военной машины, спасении цивилизации от ужасов «коричневой чумы».

При этом мы – последовательные противники политизации исторической науки. Считаем недопустимыми тенденциозные, однобокие трактовки событий минувших дней. Подобная практика порочна и лишь способствует росту межгосударственной напряженности. Исходим из того, что любые «чувствительные» сюжеты должны рассматриваться компетентными специалистами объективно, во всей их совокупности и полноте, разумеется, с учетом реалий эпохи.

К сожалению, сегодня множатся нечистоплотные попытки переписать историю Второй мировой войны. Цель такого «ревизионизма» – пересмотреть ее общепризнанные международно-правовые итоги, бросить тень на современную Россию, очернить светлое имя героев-победителей, оправдать кровавые преступления нацистов и их приспешников- коллаборационистов.

В этой связи усилия по сбережению исторической правды, в том числе для будущих поколений, приобретают первостепенное значение. Свой вклад в эту нужную работу призвана внести и данная выставка. Убежден, что экспозиция вызовет неподдельный интерес у широкой общественности.

 

г. Москва,

7 июля 2021 года

С. Лавров